Hour of Code wrap-up

Hour of Code wrap-up

Hour of Code was smashing success in my library! Every student in grades K-6 participated and 95% of them are anxious to do it again.

I spent hours last weekend adding the shortcut HoC tutorial to the home screen of my iPads and desktop computers.  I also added several apps (Lightbot, Kodable, ScratchJr, and Foos) to my iPads as a backup plan. I’ve had so many technology issues this year that I also prepared materials for the “Unplugged” version.

Monday morning rolled around and, lo and behold,when I clicked on the HoC tutorial, nothing happened.http___makeagif.com__media_12-28-2013_deQPaH(I learned how to make that GIF during last year’s Cool Tools!)

My first class was at 9:20, so I’m glad I had the iPads prepped ahead of time.  I started with Lightbot with my second graders and ended up using it all day. It starts out easy enough for the younger kids, but quickly becomes challenging for the older ones.

I started every hour by showing the world map of participants and President Obama’s video.

Screen shot 2014-12-13 at 8.36.17 PMThen we talked about all the ways we depend on computers and why it’s so important to learn HOW they work. It was fun watching their little faces when the President came on the screen.  Finally, I projected my iPad on the board and we worked through the first few challenges of the selected app together. And then, they were off!

In the end, I used the iPads and Lightbot most of the week. My kindergarten and first graders used Kodable; some on the iPads, some on the website; and I gave the sixth graders the choice of the apps or using the HoC tutorials. My only rule for them was that they had to stick with whatever they choose. I wanted them to experience the full range of emotions as they worked through the levels. No fair quitting and moving on as soon as it got hard! Two of my boys created their own games. This is Cole’s and this is Chevy’s.

This was a long, exhausting, fantastic week! Here are just a few pictures!

Teamwork was important!
Teamwork was important!
Fourth grade partnered with first grade
Fourth grade partnered with first grade
Sometimes the first grader solved the challenge first!
Sometimes the first grader solved the challenge first!
Girls can code too!
Girls can code too!
Leave a Reply

