Thing 20 – Smore

Thing 20 – Smore

Not the edible kind, but pretty yummy in its own way.

I’ve admired other people’s work created on the website Smore,and even went so far as to set up an account last fall, but that was as far as I got then.

I’m not sure what kept me from exploring it more at the time, but I’m sort of glad I didn’t because now I can use it for my Thing #20. I’ve been wanting to jazz up my annual report for awhile, so I decided to play around with Smore in the hopes that I’d create something that my principal with actually look at with more than a passing glance.

I found Smore to be incredibly easy to use and I wish I’d learned how to use it sooner.  It was so much easier to work with than my school library webpage. I see myself using Smore on a very regular basis next year to showcase library activities because it is so simple to embed pictures, links, and videos of student work. The only issue I had with it was that I couldn’t move the boxes around.  I don’t like having the “About us” box in the middle, but I can’t figure out a way to move it.

Here’s a link to my first creation.  I’d love your feedback!

As for the other tools listed, I set up a simple about.me profile awhile ago, mostly to claim my user name (msmolly27).  I looked at it again when it was mentioned in this “thing” and I see that my blog posts are automatically posting there, but I have to admit that I don’t use it at all.

I love the variety of websites that are created using wordpress and weebly, but our district has its own platform, and, while it isn’t as dynamic as some of the examples, for now I’m going to stick with that. I may start embedding my smores on the homepage, though!

Leave a Reply

