New Year, New Word

New Year, New Word

present

Two years ago my sister adopted a word for the year. Her word was “believe” and she pinned it on Pinterest and wrote a little about it through the year. I saw a few other posts here and there about having a word for the year, but I didn’t really get it. Then a friend started the same idea last year and she posted her word for 2014 on Monday.  So, I’m intrigued. I poked around the Internet for ideas and found the site One Word 365. Being the joiner that I am, I signed up right away.

The word that has been nagging at me since I started thinking about this is “Present.” I’ve had a sense of being less than 100% present in many of life’s moments for awhile now.  Technology is a constant distraction. Instead of enjoying a moment, I (and most of my companions) are busy trying to document it. A recent example was a Christmas Eve run with my best running friends (BRF’s). We had an enjoyable run that ended at a local coffee shop. As we are sitting around the table, 4 of the 5 of us had our phones out posting on FB and updating our running apps. There was chatter, but it was distracted. Even after the 5th person said something about being the only one without a phone, I’m ashamed to say that there was still some phone action going on. We were too busy documenting the moment to actually enjoy it.

Many years ago my daughter won our regional spelling bee. unknown-6 I was so busy trying to catch the moment on tape I didn’t really SEE it. And, due to a camera glitch I didn’t record it either.  Truth be told, the memory of seeing her face when she spelled the winning word would have been so much more valuable than the image on a video that will rarely, if ever be watched.

So, my word for 2014 is “Present.” I am going to work really hard on being IN the moment rather than trying to capture it. And, if I am lucky enough to capture it, I’ll try to wait until it’s over to share it with the world.

What’s your word?

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Word

  1. Glad to “meet” you! Love your blog and your post. I hear you loud and clear. I have seen the “buzz” on Twitter too about One Word and didn’t completely know all the ins and outs about it but just decided yesterday that my one word for 2014 will be courage…perhaps I’ll blog about it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

