The Coolest Tools!

The Coolest Tools!

This week’s Cool Tools are SO MUCH FUN! I’m glad this is a vacation week so I could really dig in and play.  I’m not sure how to write this post, so I think I’ll take you on my journey this far.

First off, I was delighted to learn how to get a screen shot on my mac.

Image

I’ve been a mac user for nearly 10 years and I never knew how to do this. Bless you Polly for sharing this trick!

My next stop was Quozio, where you can make a favorite quote into a lovely image. So simple to do! The hardest part was choosing a quote. I thought I could add my own image, so that was a bit of a letdown, but I’m pretty sure some of the the other tools in this module will help with that. Using my new screen capture skill, here’s the image I made with Quozio: Image

I had a finish line picture in mind when I chose the quote, but I like this image as well.

I think I am going to use this tool and make a series of quotes from our Battle of the Books books for my Battle bulletin board with a challenge for the kids to identify the books.

From Quozio I jumped to the most exciting/challenging thing for me, which was making a gif. My daughter has been making them for years. I always wondered how she did it, but never asked.

I started by watching this video, which made it look easier than it actually was (for me anyway). I went the site makeagif.com and went to work.  The pictures I tried to upload weren’t working for me, so I decided to try using a video of my kids having a snowball fight. I found the video, found it was too large to upload, trimmed it (I didn’t even know I knew how to do that!), uploaded it again, and when it created the gif, it was upside down! (insert frustration gif here)ImageAs you have undoubtably gathered, I finally figured it out. 🙂 Emoticons are so lame now. I am struggling to resist the temptation to create a happy gif. I foresee an annoying abundance of gifs in the future of this blog.  I’ll apologize now.

I found Pixlr and Picasion to be easier for creating gifs with still images as you may have seen in this post.

There is so much more to explore, but this post is already quite long and my wrists are seriously starting to complain about the amount of keyboard time, so I’ll wrap it up for now.

One thought on “The Coolest Tools!

Leave a Reply

