Picture Book Month Meets Hard Luck

Picture Book Month Meets Hard Luck

As you probably know, the 8th book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series came out this week. I bought two copies and brought them in this morning. Immediately there was a group of five boys clamoring photo 1-5for it. Several others joined in when they realized what was going on. How to fairly settle this situation? Think fast!

I remembered the bulletin board I had put up to celebrate Picture Book Month. I printed out the opening lines of ten classic picture books and posted them with the challenge to name as many titles as possible.  The original plan was just to give students something to read and think about while they were waiting in the breakfast line that often extends past that board.

I made a spur of the moment decision to turn the bulletin board into a contest to win the chance to check out Hard Luck before anyone else. I had boys in and out all day trying to solve the puzzle.  (Not one girl, interestingly.) This led to spontaneous lessons on search strategies and library organization. (Things that have been previously taught, but clearly didn’t stick.) Listening to their comments as they search has been entertaining and I’m learning a lot more about their skills and knowledge gaps than I’ve ever learned from a single lesson.

How many can you guess?

  1. “I thought he’d nephoto 2-5ver leave.”
  2. “Chug, chug, chug. Puff, puff, puff. Ding-dong, ding-dong.”
  3. “Everybody knows the story of the Three Little Pigs.”
  4. “The sun did not shine.”
  5. “I am Sam.”
  6. “In the light of the moon a little egg lay on a leaf.”
  7. “I’m Emily Elizabeth, and I have a dog.”
  8. “Elizabeth was a beautiful princess.”
  9. “The night Max wore his wolf suit and made mischief of one kind and another his mother called him “WILD THING!” and Max said “I’LL EAT YOU UP!” so he was sent to bed without eating anything.”
  10. “David’s mom always said…No David!”
Leave a Reply

