Hello again

Hello again

So much has happened since my last post I don’t know where to start.

I suppose it would be logical to follow up on my progress with going sugar free. Ha! That lasted a few days. My world was shattered just five days after I last wrote when a friend of mine was the victim of a horrific crime.  I still can’t think about it without tears. I no longer watch the local news in order to avoid those frequent, yet unexpected, reminders.

My family teases me that I act like I live in Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood, and they’re right.  I do.  Or, I did.  And I liked it that way.  I’m not sure have the mental strength to live in a world where I have to be suspicious of every person; to always be on my guard.  This crime was like a tsunami to my world order. The randomness of it. The degree of violence. It has just shaken me to my core.

Suddenly, running alone was not to be taken lightly. My BRF’s all reported the same thing – fervent warnings from family and friends about running solo.  A favorite road is now off limits for most of us if we are alone.  I can’t wait until the new Bia Sport watch is available so I can have an added measure of security.

Then, just as I was regaining my bearings, Boston happened. Too much senseless violence for my mind to process.

The rest of the school year passed in a blur. Literally. My brain has been shrouded in a fog that is slowly lifting after two weeks of quiet.  Hopefully writing will help me finish healing.

The last three months haven’t been all bad. Up next – I’ll write about running in London and the inaugural Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington DC.

Leave a Reply

