Why Wednesdays? – Why the Workout ‘Buddy System’ Isn’t For Everyone (And That’s Ok!)

Why Wednesdays? – Why the Workout ‘Buddy System’ Isn’t For Everyone (And That’s Ok!)

I can’t tell you how relieved I was to read this post! I (re)started running in December, 2011 right after signing up for my first triathlon and half marathon. I’ve run off and on for years, almost always solo.
I signed up for a triathlon training program, met several new friends, and began running with them. The group has grown from 2 to 3 and lately has mushroomed into a crowd of 8! I love my first running partner and sorely miss our runs, but as the group has grown, it’s rarely just the two of us and scheduling has become a nightmare. Not to mention the competitive nature of some group members.
Running is beginning to feel like a job. I hate to let people down, so spontaneous, solo runs have become a thing of the past as there is always someone looking for a partner. If I’m ready to go at 8:00 AM on Saturday, I have to wait till the group is ready at 9:00. Or I’m dashing out of work to meet someone for an evening run.
Intellectually, I know I have every right to decline, but I don’t want to hurt or offend anyone by saying I’d rather run alone sometimes.
It’s so refreshing to know that I’m not the only one who values my solo runs. I think I’m ready to establish my boundaries.

Move Eat Create

A Note About This Feature:  Why Wednesdays is a Move Eat Create weekly feature determined to turn the mid-week doldrums upside down and celebrate things I love to do and blog about.  I have completed series on the topics of running, creativity, and food.  Now, I’m being a bit random and discussing whatever strikes me at the time!

 

I see a lot and I mean A LOT of articles and blog posts written about workout buddies.  A general theme present in these writings is the idea that working out with someone will keep you motivated, accountable, and provide an overall more positive fitness (and weight loss) experience.  Some of these articles cite studies that seem to support their claims.  Others rely on personal experience.  Through and through, though, there seems to be a prevalent belief that having a workout buddy is the optimal way to go.  Rarely do you…

View original post 845 more words

Leave a Reply

