Edmodo

Edmodo

I’ve been using Edmodo with my 5th and 6th graders for a little over a year now, but I know I’m not making the most of it.  The kids who don’t have Facebook tend to use Edmodo to communicate with each other, and I’ve posted a  few assignments,  but not as many as I would have liked. The great thing about Edmodo for assignments is that grading is easy.  There are no papers to tote back and forth and the students don’t have to wait until their next library day for feedback.

Another fun feature that Edmodo added over the summer was badges.  You can create badges and award them to students when they complete certain tasks.  I was surprised by how much the kids like getting badges.  They’re nothing more than an extra picture on their profile page after all.  The difficult thing for me, as librarian, is keeping it all straight as I deal with so many students. The kids make sure I know it if I forget to award a badge they earned.

I would really like to connect my class with another class, but I haven’t had success with that yet.  I’ve connected with a couple of teachers and joined a couple of groups, but that isn’t trickling down to linking the kids.  My edmodo user name is CERLibrary, if you’d like to brainstorm a way to connect our classes.

 

3 thoughts on “Edmodo

  1. I’ve just signed up for Edmodo and it looks really useful, however I do have one question: do you have the students use it at home only or do you give “edmodo time” during your time with them? I’m assuming you use it as a way to give them the aspects of an assignment and then they report back their work whenever they have access?

    1. I give them Edmodo time when I have an assignment for them to do. Edmodo is also always an option for those times when other work is complete. Several of the kids discovered the Edmodo app for their iPhone/iPod which I didn’t even know about. The app makes it even easier – you can even grade assignments with the app!

      1. Cool, that’s the way I was imagining it. Do you do all of your grading on Edmodo or only some? Can you export grades to another program like “TeacherEase” or is there no point to it if it’s easier to do all grading on Edmodo?

Leave a Reply

